RSS

Sitting with my Ghost

22 Dec

I see you there
Dancing through the shadows
Without a care
I’d gotten used to life without those
Eyes that see through my walls
And deep into
My misery
Come sit awhile
You might as well pull up a chair
I see that smile
You know your hold on me’s not fair
I thought I had outrun your grasp
But I see that
I was wrong

 

I cannot pretend
That I can keep running
I don’t have the energy today
So we might as well
Learn to live together
Since you’ll never go away

 

I ask of you
One favor if you wouldn’t mind
Tell me the truth
Are the memories of us all lies?
Because sometimes I think I doubt
But then you show
Your face again

 

I cannot pretend
That I can keep running
I don’t have the energy today
So we might as well
Learn to live together
Since you’ll never go away

 

I see you there
Dancing through the shadows
Come sit awhile…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 22 December 2015 in Poetry

 

One response to “Sitting with my Ghost

  1. James Prescott

    22 December 2015 at 11:25 pm

    This is just wonderful Rhiannon, and deeply moving. Thinking of you, sending love & prayers.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
