RSS

The Girl on the Beach

07 Jun

 

rye-843546_1920Do you know how often I think of you
Standing on a rocky beach?
Squinting into the sun
Your hair whipping around your face
Your hands in your jacket pockets
Hugging it tight around you
Even though I know you aren’t cold.

And for just a moment,
Just one of the stillest moments that has ever been,
You smile
Before you spread wide your arms
And spin around,
Head tilted back,
Eyes closed,
Free.

And I want to catch you when you’re dizzy
And I want to brush your hair back from your face
And I want tell you a million things…
But I’ve never been to the beach.
So why do I see you there?
And I can hear the waves as though
They lulled me to sleep every night of my life
Just like I can feel your arms that have never held me.
And I wonder if you are just a dream
And I wonder if my hope even truly exists
Because all I know is the only place I want to be
Is there
On that beach
With you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 7 June 2016 in Poetry

 

2 responses to “The Girl on the Beach

  1. harulawordsthatserve

    7 June 2016 at 1:41 pm

    Beautiful, and a wonderful rhythm, lulling me like lapping waves. Magical 🙂 H x

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
