RSS

Listening

16 Sep

I walked in the door from the busy world outside and was born into a space of silence. I sat down to rest and the stillness was almost unnerving. I was listening, though I wasn’t sure for what.

My mind focused on the ticking of the clock and I felt a half-soothing from its regularity. But, it was also not at all satisfying. It was discordantly too consistent.

I caught the sound of neighbors running some machinery that I couldn’t identify. I felt anger rise that they dare distract me from my quest for what I needed to hear.

Then I realized as I sighed, I was missing you. I want to lie in the dark, listening to your breathing. I want to hear the irregular normalcy of your routine each day. I want to hear the music of your laugh. I want to hear you say you love me.

So, I listened to my heart. I heard its tears and whispered, “Someday.” And my heart was listening and believed.


*Another #FMFParty #FiveMinuteFriday prompt.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 16 September 2016 in Blog, FiveMinuteFridays

 

2 responses to “Listening

  1. K. Ann Guinn

    16 September 2016 at 11:06 pm

    Hello Rhiannon. I’m visiting you from Five Minute Friday, and enjoyed reading your post about listening. I can immediately tell you are a poet by the way you write. It is lovely and thought-provoking.

    Like

     
  2. Emma Hughes (@verycrankymummy)

    17 September 2016 at 8:42 am

    Beautifully written and haunting as well. The silence has so much to say, doesn’t it?

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
