RSS

Collect

22 Jul

hand-1599898_1280

By Rhiannon C Hall – 21 July 2017

 

I look at my empty hands

Freshly freed from their beloved burdens

And I wish this season were more about collecting

Than letting go…

And I wish I could even hold my wishes,

But they slip through my grasp

Like the smoke accompanying the genie

From the lamp…

And in the emptiness I hold,

I see it,

I see what I have gained

Through all this loss:

The scars,

The tough and tender reminders

Of thorns

And wrestling

With what could have been

A meant to be

Or maybe always was

A never was…

And I close my hand

And feel the skin

Flex and stretch,

Ready to hold its destiny,

Ready to be seen

In its perfect reality,

Stripped bare and empty…

 

 

(This poem was written in 5 minutes as part of Five Minute Friday. The prompt was “Collect”.)

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Collect

  1. Angela Umphers Rueger

    22 July 2017 at 10:17 am

    It was five minutes well spent! Great poem! And great idea too. I’m going to give it a go.

    Like

     
    • Rhiannon Hall

      22 July 2017 at 4:20 pm

      Thank you! You should join in on twitter. There are several writers who chat during the #fmfparty before the weekly prompt is revealed. Then we link up our projects to the main blog and encourage each other’s work! I can’t always make the chat, but it’s still a good community to pop in and out of when you can.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Angela Umphers Rueger

        22 July 2017 at 10:13 pm

        I’ll consider it. I have a Twitter account but have rarely used it and only have 1 follower. 🙂 It sounds like fun though.

        Like

         
      • Rhiannon Hall

        26 July 2017 at 4:06 am

        well, look for the hashtag #fmfparty on Thursday nights (depending on your time zone) and talk with a few of the people there. I’m sure you’ll get some new followers!

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. the incurable dreamer

    25 July 2017 at 8:18 am

    Wow. Five minutes well spent!

    Like

     
  3. Wise Hearted

    25 July 2017 at 7:50 pm

    Hummmm…love that we have some poets writing, always a lovely read for us non-poet people. Thanks for that one.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
