RSS

Trying…

04 Aug

anchor-661991_960_720

By Rhiannon C Hall – 4 August 2017

I take a deep breath,
Try to squint at the swirl of words
In my heart and
Pick out just one
That makes sense,
That resonates with the Truth
That I seek from You.

I’d anchored down the word I didn’t want to hear
Because I KNEW You wouldn’t say it;
And as long as it was an option,
It would fog my vision.
As I stared into the turbulence
That ebbed and flowed around
The questions
That seem unanswerable,
You resurrected
From the deep
The One,
Having loosed it’s chain
From the weight of all the pain
From all the hope deferred…

And it took my breath away…

But still I try
To accept the word
That I didn’t want to hear
As Your answer,
And still I try
To see its resonance
With the evidence
And trust that Your ways
Are higher than mine…

 

 

This poem was written as part of Five Minute Friday. This week’s #fmfparty prompt was “Try”. It’s interesting to me to see what happens with the half a thought that I can almost grasp when I set the timer for five minutes and try to write. When the timer beeps, I’m usually a little surprised. I know this piece is not what I intended it to be, but it may be exactly what it needed to be…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 4 August 2017 in Blog, FiveMinuteFridays, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Trying…

  1. atexasgirlblogs

    4 August 2017 at 10:03 am

    Beautiful, Thank you for sharing. Have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Andrew Budek-Schmeisser

    4 August 2017 at 3:23 pm

    “…to accept the word / that I didn’t want to hear…”

    Gosh, Rhiannon, this is just so true. Lovely poem, and it will stay with me. Especially since I printed it out and taped it to the fridge.

    #1 at FMF this week.

    https://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2017/08/your-dying-spouse-345-embracing-fear-fmf.html

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Rhiannon Hall

      7 August 2017 at 5:41 am

      Wow! I’m taped to someone’s fridge!?!?!? That is the coolest! Thank you 🙂

      Like

       
  3. The Thrifty Campers

    6 August 2017 at 7:44 pm

    Beautiful words

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
